The Gift That Keeps Giving

photo

Today is my good friend Holly’s Birthday, and she is quite possibly one of the most amazing women that I have ever known. We met in college, and she has always been quick with an encouraging word, always shown me that if you can’t think you can do more you’re wrong through her tireless effort to be the best that she can be, and always known how not to be afraid to let your hair down and have fun whenever you can!

A few years ago she gave me a gift that has changed how I deal with a lot of things in my life…and it may sound a little weird.

After returning from one of her whirlwind trips abroad, she brought me a set of Tibetan Prayer Beads.

photo (1)

I have a tendency to dwell on things and to be very anxious about things, and Holly gave me the gift that keeps giving in these beads because they have helped me focus and calm myself when I am about to tip over the edge.

Whenever I am in need of bringing a little more focus and perspective to my feelings, I grab my beads and head to the porch swing.

As I swing I roll each bead trying to think through each part of my anxiety/fear/worry. Sometimes I make my own affirmations, while other times I roll the bead between my fingers as I stare into space as if some sort of strength is going to suddenly come to me.

However one thing always happens when I reach the last bead near the tassel of my beads, I feel thankful that I have a friend that knows that sometimes what you need the most in life is a friend that knows that you are strong enough to find the answers you need inside yourself.

Thank you Holly, for always being my friend and most of all for being an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

